Award in Instructional Technology

Award Summary

A component of NWACC’s Instructional Technology program, the Award in Instructional Technology recognizes instructional technologists and faculty members at NWACC member institutions for work demonstrating effective design, development, integration, and/or support of instructional technology. Through this annual award, we hope to share proven strategies and inspire new ideas in the integration of technology with teaching and learning.

To facilitate this, recipients present their work and host a plenary session at the annual NWACC Instructional Technology Roundtable. Winners receive a $500 cash award.

How to apply

Fill out the application form and submit by October 7th, 2019. Questions can be directed to Hae Okimoto


Recipients must be associated with an NWACC-affiliated institution.

Judging Criteria

A panel of NWACC members from across several member institutions will evaluate applications based on the following criteria:

  • Innovation – the degree to which the program is innovative in its use of technology and its potential to inspire new ideas and practices
  • Collaboration – the degree to which the program exemplifies collaboration and/or uses of collaborative tools
  • Effectiveness – evidence that the program is improving student learning and engagement
  • Transferability – evidence that the program can be repeated in other institutions or settings
  • Scalability – if the project was a pilot program, can it be scaled for a larger context?

Panel of Judges

The panel will be made up by the NWACC council.

Past Award Winners

2016: Lightboard Videos for a Flipped Classroom – Katrina Hay, Associate Professor of Physics, and Jenna Stoeber, Instructional Technologies Team Manager, Pacific Lutheran University

2015: Threadz: Discussion Visualization – Jeff Healy, Instructional Technology Manager, and Matt Lewis, Project Lead, Eastern Washington University

2014: Techonolgy Enabled Active Learning Classrooms – Dr. Marilyn Lockhart, Dr. David Single, Facilities Management Department team members, Information Technology Department team members, Ritchie Boyd, and Lindsey Jackson, Montana State University

2013: An Experiential Faculty Development Program on Blended Learning – Justina Brown, Marc Ravaris, John Farquhar, Andrew Blick, Maggie Barklind, and Peter Agras, Western Washington University
2012: The eBestiary – Anne de Marcken, Ruth Hayes, Amy Greene, and Stephanie Zorn, The Evergreen State College

2011: Pacific Lutheran University Hebrew Idol – Tony Finitsis and Nick Butler, with assistance from students and staff of Religion Department and I&TS

2010: Smart Technology in Music Education – Dr. Eric Wiltshire, University of Oregon